In July 2013, we ran a competition to win copies of Soldiers of Fortune. Entrants had to submit their memories of the military era in less than 100 words.  Below are the six winning entries.  Many thanks to all who participated!

omotayo shehudikko Irechukwu emeka debenwanze daniel



  1. Amzat Babatunde
    Posted July 12, 2013 at 10:37 pm | Permalink

    Sometime after June 12 I followed my aunt on a leisurely stroll and came across a protest march
    We fell into tow and the next thing I remember we were both back in the house crying.
    My aunt had been flogged by the soldiers and I had a lump on my forehead she was consoling me saying it was going to be fine.

  2. Posted July 13, 2013 at 1:08 pm | Permalink

    May I know the reason why non-resident Nigerians are not allowed to participate in the essay? It would have been better to make it open to all Nigerians, irrespective of where they might reside. Preventing non-resident Nigerians from participating, will deny many would-have-been participants the opportunity to be part of the contest. Thanks.

  3. henry
    Posted August 7, 2013 at 8:03 am | Permalink

    congrats to all the winners. Irrespective of the fact that I did not win, I am gonna buy the book, read it cover to cover and critique it. Silloun is my man. Ride on, fellow son of Herodotus!

  4. Bada, Yusuf Amoo
    Posted August 7, 2013 at 10:10 am | Permalink

    It is a great pleasure to see this, I must congratulate those who make the shortlist and those who have participated. Every body who participated is a winner and the loosers are those who are unable to enter their works. Great!

  5. Ladi
    Posted August 7, 2013 at 12:57 pm | Permalink

    Interseting read. Congrats to the winners.

  6. St Naija
    Posted August 20, 2013 at 4:26 pm | Permalink

    This is beautiful! There shold be a share button here. :-) Bravo!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>